M20 Spell Casting

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
Cyragia

M20 Spell Casting

Post by Cyragia »

Hello,
First I'd like to say I'm new to RPG's, I've read some rulebooks, but never played actually played a game.
I'm considering playing Basic Fantasy, but I find that 'preparing' magic spells constrains the abilities of the magic user. I really like the system Microlite20 uses: you can cast any spell without preparing but you take damage relative to the spells level (assuming you're level is high enough to cast the spell), that way the magic user still has considerable downsides when casting spells, but more choice what to cast.
Would this be good to houserule into BF, or will it break certain aspects of the game ? Would there be disadvantages if I use this method ?
SmootRK

Re: M20 Spell Casting

Post by SmootRK »

Cyragia wrote:Hello,
First I'd like to say I'm new to RPG's, I've read some rulebooks, but never played actually played a game.
I'm considering playing Basic Fantasy, but I find that 'preparing' magic spells constrains the abilities of the magic user. I really like the system Microlite20 uses: you can cast any spell without preparing but you take damage relative to the spells level (assuming you're level is high enough to cast the spell), that way the magic user still has considerable downsides when casting spells, but more choice what to cast.
Would this be good to houserule into BF, or will it break certain aspects of the game ? Would there be disadvantages if I use this method ?
I have never heard of this sort of houserule (and I have never really given microlite20 much of a look). It does sound interesting to me, as I wrote an alternate take the Sorcerer sort of caster called the Fey Mage that uses alternate mechanisms for casting.