Question about level advancement rules

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
A Masked Robot

Question about level advancement rules

Post Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:39 pm

Hello, I'm new here. I'm also very new to tabletop games in general, only having played a little of D&D3 and 3.5. My group also consists of first-time players (save one vet), so I thought Basic Fantasy would be a perfect match. I've been scouring the rulebook for the past few days, but there is one thing I'm confused on. The rules for leveling up are a bit scattered throughout the book, and I'm unsure if I found them all. What I've found was:
  • Hit Point rules on page 3
    Spells per day and hit dice in with the class tables
    Thief abilities on page 9
    Attack bonus rules on page 47
    Clerics vs undead table on page 50
I have three questions. First, do ability scores increase when a character advances?
Second, does a magic-user/cleric prepare each individual spell? (In other words, would a level 3 cleric be able to prepare, say, Cure Light Wounds and Detect Evil OR two instances of Cure Light Wounds, but not both?)
And third, is there anything else I'm missing?

My apologies for these extraordinarily newbish questions. I hope I haven't been too annoying!
SmootRK

Re: Question about level advancement rules

Post Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:48 pm

A Masked Robot wrote:First, do ability scores increase when a character advances?
No. But I know some might House Rule such an occurrence into their game. Third edition's one point every 4 levels is reasonable, and I don't think it would unreasonably break balance, especially when one uses 3d6 in order to make characters. Using more liberal methods (creating already more powerful characters) may need to be considered carefully with such a house rule.