Stupid questions from a N00b...

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
Captain Arcus

Stupid questions from a N00b...

Post by Captain Arcus »

While I am not new to gaming, I am new to A) the OSR, B) BFRPG and the online/ publishing/PDF world.

I have been DMing in my own Homebrew world for a couple decades now and have fallen in love with the Basic Fantasy system and its supplements. We gave up on trying to keep up with the latest/best/newest edition thing because of the rules bloat and the endemic "rules optimizing" that seemed to be taking over the Pathfinder system we had been using. No offense to anyone that enjoys that sort of thing. It just wasn't for us.

I'd love to submit a few things:

-I have a Campaign Setting City (Krakenport), roughly based on Fritz Leiber's Lankhmar.

-I have a couple of 'modules' that I consistently use for 1-3 level PCs as starter adventures

The problem is, I am just not familiar with publishing online (I'm in Law Enforcement for my day job) I downloaded Apache OpenOffice. Is this the same OpenOffice you guys use?

What does it mean to edit an existing download, since there is no template?

I'm sorry if these are stupid questions.
SmootRK

Re: Stupid questions from a N00b...

Post by SmootRK »

OpenOffice is pretty much the same thing that we recommend (LibreOffice).
Is it really the end, not some crazy dream?
-1warrior

Post by -1warrior »

It's awesome that you are interested in submitting stuff. Welcome to the community. :)
Magic Items... Sold Dirt Cheap!

My job is to archive all of Hyway's awesome parodies. ;)
lars_alexander

Post by lars_alexander »

Welcome, Captain Arcus!

You can use any of the existing modules as a 'template'. Simply download the .odt file, and delete the content, then insert your own. Make sure to edit the OGL information so it applies to your work.

There's some more information by Solomoriah in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=403