Morgansfort for beginners

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
drsoggy

Morgansfort for beginners

Post by drsoggy »

Hello forum. I’m new to BF and a novice GM. I’m planning on running a BF campaign for my kids and their friends. They are also beginner players. Some of them have some limited experience with DnD 5E, but not a lot. In looking through The Olde Island Fortress and it looks deadly. It’s mostly just monsters that are sketched out (at least the parts I read). Is it expected for me to flesh out more of the dungeon details so the players have more to interact with? I’m looking through the monster list wondering how 3 players will possibly survive. One of the reasons I chose BF is because it would be great when kids spending the night, or camping. The fact that the world is deadly is perfect for those situations because they will be dead by the end of the night. I just don’t want them to die too soon. Does anyone have a Morgansfort Campaign on YouTube that might help me get a feel for how to run things? Any help is appreciated. Thanks!
saigan

Re: Morgansfort for beginners

Post by saigan »

I wouldn't send beginners into Morgansfort, I've been running it for a group that varies from 6-8 people each week and there have been four deaths in as many sessions. Its great fun, but a small beginner group will need some levels (and general game experience) before trying to tackle it. I would either take them through Tales from the Laughing Dragon or a couple Adventure Anthology games first.
drsoggy

Post by drsoggy »

Thanks. I will do that. I also found an article on running Old School Games which was very helpful. Any other advice would be welcome.
Metroknight

Post by Metroknight »

As written I would not suggest running new players through the island dungeon.