Quick Initiative Question

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
Post Reply
User avatar
WARDUKE
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:05 am

Quick Initiative Question

Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:10 am

Hi all,

Just downloaded the PDF and was looking through the combat rules.

I noticed that characters add their Dexterity bonus to Initiative. Monsters don't have DEX, and I didn't see anything that listed an Initiative Bonus for them. Does that just mean that high DEX is a character-only advantage to Initiative?

Thanks!
User avatar
Metroknight
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 7:26 pm
Location: Alabama, USA
Contact:

Re: Quick Initiative Question

Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:50 am

That is partially correct. As I read it, Halflings get a racial bonus, high dex get a bonus, specific spells induce bonuses and many other situational modifiers but monsters do not get a bonus. In fact there is one sentence on page 44 that enforces this thought "This roll is adjusted by the character's Dexterity bonus.".

With that said, I have used a simple houserule for monsters before. Half their HD is their initiative bonus.

I have also just changed the initiative dice type to a d10 for games instead of using the that houserule so it still falls in line with the spirit of the written rule.. That change expands the range and gives monsters a slightly more chance of getting the drop on the characters.
Knights of the Written Word 2 is group that is focused on text based gaming on roll20.
User avatar
WARDUKE
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:05 am

Re: Quick Initiative Question

Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:17 pm

Thanks Metro.
User avatar
Solomoriah
Site Admin
Posts: 7141
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:15 pm
Location: LaBelle, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Quick Initiative Question

Post Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:01 pm

The GM is always in the right to assign bonuses or penalties to monsters as he or she sees fit. I usually go +2 for pixies and sprites, and I've been known to give kobolds and goblins a bonus. Just because I didn't write it in the rulebook doesn't mean you shouldn't do it.
My personal site: www.gonnerman.org
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests