BFRPG Crunch: How I LOVE you!
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:03 pm
I'm preparing to run a module from Teaman (Frostbury: The Lost City) at OSRCon in Toronto this August, so I thought I'd better go through the module and the rules to figure out how I would handle possible situations that may arise during play. Well, "I was blind but now I see"! The crunch! THE CRUNCH!
For example, I'm reading over spells and initiative on page 15. Ah, spellcasters must have at least one hand free and be able to speak. Good to know. Monsters will be trying to tangle up or silence the party's spell casters.
Then I read the following:
If a spellcaster is attacked (successfully or not) or must make a saving throw (successful or not) on the spellcaster's turn in Initiative (so a monster/NPC has the same Initiative number as the spellcaster), then the spell is spoiled and lost. Exception: 2 spellcasters can cast spells at each other on the same Initiative number and both casters will succeed with their casting. However, 1 caster may disrupt another caster with a spell only if he has a better Initiative & chooses to delay casting the spell right before the other caster.
What? Simultaneous actions in Initiative? Huh? Usually when I play if players/monsters have the same Initiative roll (or number) I usually allow players to go first then monsters. Hello! What's this?
Page 44 of the rules:
"Any characters/monsters with equal [Initiative] numbers act simultaneously..... If desired, a combatant [therefore, a character or a monster] can choose to wait until a later [lower] [Initiative] number to act.... In this case, the player character's action [or monster's action if it waited] is simultaneous with the creature waited for, just as if they had rolled the same number."
But why would you do this? I refer you back to Spells and Initiative above.
So a clever spellcaster with a high Initiative number can delay his or her attack until an enemy spellcaster's turn, cast a spell at the enemy caster AND disrupt the enemy caster's spell making it spoiled and lost! That changes things doesn't it?
Also, back to page 44 and Initiative:
"A character [and I would say monsters, too] using a weapon with a long reach (spears, for instance) may choose to attack a closing opponent on the closing opponent's [Initiative] number and thus attack simultaneously with the opponent, even if the character rolled lower for Initiative."
These are awesome little rules of which I was ignorant. They make spellcasters and longer weapons a little more fearsome.
One question though. Would an attacker who had delayed their action until a lower Initiative number stay at that number? If so, does a spellcaster who did this always go just before the other spellcaster?
What other little nuggets of goodness have I missed? I'm going to test run the Brawling and Wrestling rules, too, because I think they would be fun to use in a game.
For example, I'm reading over spells and initiative on page 15. Ah, spellcasters must have at least one hand free and be able to speak. Good to know. Monsters will be trying to tangle up or silence the party's spell casters.
Then I read the following:
If a spellcaster is attacked (successfully or not) or must make a saving throw (successful or not) on the spellcaster's turn in Initiative (so a monster/NPC has the same Initiative number as the spellcaster), then the spell is spoiled and lost. Exception: 2 spellcasters can cast spells at each other on the same Initiative number and both casters will succeed with their casting. However, 1 caster may disrupt another caster with a spell only if he has a better Initiative & chooses to delay casting the spell right before the other caster.
What? Simultaneous actions in Initiative? Huh? Usually when I play if players/monsters have the same Initiative roll (or number) I usually allow players to go first then monsters. Hello! What's this?
Page 44 of the rules:
"Any characters/monsters with equal [Initiative] numbers act simultaneously..... If desired, a combatant [therefore, a character or a monster] can choose to wait until a later [lower] [Initiative] number to act.... In this case, the player character's action [or monster's action if it waited] is simultaneous with the creature waited for, just as if they had rolled the same number."
But why would you do this? I refer you back to Spells and Initiative above.
So a clever spellcaster with a high Initiative number can delay his or her attack until an enemy spellcaster's turn, cast a spell at the enemy caster AND disrupt the enemy caster's spell making it spoiled and lost! That changes things doesn't it?
Also, back to page 44 and Initiative:
"A character [and I would say monsters, too] using a weapon with a long reach (spears, for instance) may choose to attack a closing opponent on the closing opponent's [Initiative] number and thus attack simultaneously with the opponent, even if the character rolled lower for Initiative."
These are awesome little rules of which I was ignorant. They make spellcasters and longer weapons a little more fearsome.
One question though. Would an attacker who had delayed their action until a lower Initiative number stay at that number? If so, does a spellcaster who did this always go just before the other spellcaster?
What other little nuggets of goodness have I missed? I'm going to test run the Brawling and Wrestling rules, too, because I think they would be fun to use in a game.