Multiple Weapon Question

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
Post Reply
Caelestis
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:05 pm

Multiple Weapon Question

Post Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:20 am

This has probably been asked and answered before. But here goes..

I recently added in to our campaign the rules to allow dual wielding. In them I noticed that you change the Dex modifier, but it says the lowest this can be using these rules is 0. However what if the Dex modifier is already negative?

My assumption is that we can't reduce a positive Dex modifier below 0, otherwise we use the existing negative modifier.

Would that be right?

Thanks

Mark
User avatar
Solomoriah
Site Admin
Posts: 7381
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:15 pm
Location: LaBelle, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Multiple Weapon Question

Post Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:08 pm

If you are talking about the two-weapon combat rules in Combat Options, you've understood it wrongly.

The penalty for using two weapons is -2 for the primary, -5 for the secondary. To this figure, you add your Dexterity bonus. So for Dex of 13-15, it's -1/-4; for Dex of 16-17, it's +0/-3. For Dex of 18, the primary would be (-2 + 3 = +1) but that would be a bonus... that's the rule about 0. The minimum penalty is +0. Thus, 18 Dex is +0/-3.

I hope that made it clearer.

Incidentally, as you can easily imagine, dual wielding with a penalty Dex is disastrous. :D
My personal site: www.gonnerman.org
Caelestis
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: Multiple Weapon Question

Post Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:18 pm

Yep that makes perfect sense. Thanks for clearing it up for me!

We will see if the party still want to dual wield now I understand the rules properly.

Thanks

Mark
User avatar
Hywaywolf
Posts: 5259
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC

Re: Multiple Weapon Question

Post Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:35 pm

why wouldn't the secondary for 18 dex go to -2?
User avatar
Solomoriah
Site Admin
Posts: 7381
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:15 pm
Location: LaBelle, Missouri
Contact:

Re: Multiple Weapon Question

Post Mon Oct 30, 2017 7:32 am

Hywaywolf wrote:why wouldn't the secondary for 18 dex go to -2?
Ack, that's what I meant to type. +0/-2.
My personal site: www.gonnerman.org
User avatar
Hywaywolf
Posts: 5259
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:30 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC

Re: Multiple Weapon Question

Post Mon Oct 30, 2017 7:53 am

If you want, go ahead and correct your post and then delete my two post to head off any confusion for later readers
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests