Dungeon Design

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
ArtyG

Dungeon Design

Post by ArtyG »

Fellow masters of dungeons and adventurers,

I've been making up adventures and building dungeons for twenty years or so now and have kind of hit a snag. As much fun as building dungeons is, there really don't seem to be too many ways of doing it. The typical advice of thinking very hard about all of the details of the dungeon and its inhabitants has never really helped me to build anything interesting in the same way the the old five room dungeon formula has and I can only use that so many times before finding myself in a bit of a rut.

Are there other ways to go about dungeon creation that don't involve just letting a computer randomize one? What techniques have you used in dungeon creation? Is there a specific method or formula you tend to stick with, or do you just build what looks cool and hope for the best?

I await your response,

Arty G.
"Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup."
Longman

dungeons

Post by Longman »

I pretty much have to force many of my players to go into dungeons.

They all seem to prefer it up top, where they can see better, and there are more tactical options (places to run away).

They only go down below if there's some pretty compelling reason. Like, if the dungeon contains the key to some important aspect of the game. The speculative chance of "some loot" is usually not enough.

I have a table-top game running and last year I had my players discover a map to an old dungeon hidden beneath a goblin fort on an island...and they totally ignored it and went in the other direction.

They also found an ancient tunnel hidden beneath a bridge, leading into the riverbank, half-flooded but still accessible. Again, they totally ignored it. They said they didn't want to get wet. :roll: