Basic Fantasy RPG Boxed Set? a.k.a. "Black Box Set"?

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
JenniferRPG

Basic Fantasy RPG Boxed Set? a.k.a. "Black Box Set"?

Post by JenniferRPG »

Hello. My name is Jennifer. I started playing Classic D&D when I was a kid about 32 years ago with the Mentzer set I believe. I always wanted to DM but never got the chance.

Now 32 years later, I have the urge again to DM. I bought the D&D 5.0 Starter Set and was not satisfied with it. After a bit of research I decided to revert back to Classic D&D and have really enjoyed the Moldvay Basic book recently. I printed the Moldvay PDF out and have been studying it for the past week --- ahhh the memories.

I was about to go with Moldvay until I found out about Basic Fantasy RPG yesterday. It is so Moldvay-esque but polished and updated with d20 instead of thac0 etc. And there are so many modules made for Basic Fantasy RPG as well -- ones that look a little easier to read than the old ones. I especially like that there are solo dungeons for Basic Fantasy RPG available since I'll be doing a lot of ONE on ONE with my nephew.

Anyways, so I covered my 5e Starter Set Box with black poster board, printed out the Basic Fantasy RPG book cover--on my HP Laserjet 200 m251nw (like 10 cents to print with non-OEM ink cartridges)--and pasted it on the top of the box.

Just before I pasted on the top piece (covering my 5e starter set box) :

Printed out the Rules and the Field Guide and going to have each spiral bound with full color covers (protected by clear vinyl sheet in front) and a nice thick black vinyl back on each.

I think it'd be really neat if Basic Fantasy RPG offered a box set! It'd really suit it since Moldvay Basic set came in a box! :)