maps

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
Chaneduh

maps

Post by Chaneduh »

Hi everyone. I am completely new to pen and paper RPGs, but I printed out the rule book and a few modules and whatnot. a group of friends and I want to play and I am the GM. My question is do I make a "board" of some sort to place character pieces on? If so why would the PCs need to draw a map? After reading a little bit on the forums I have come to think that there are no game pieces to represent each PC and they must remember where they are themselves. If anyone could clear things up that would be amazing.
-1warrior

Re: maps

Post by -1warrior »

Well, it is really personal preference. Some people use miniatures (or different colored dice) and "battle mats". Others simply use one dice on a map to represent where the characters are. Or they just remember it in their heads. Go with whichever one is easiest for you.

Welcome to the Forums. :)
Magic Items... Sold Dirt Cheap!

My job is to archive all of Hyway's awesome parodies. ;)
Dimirag

Post by Dimirag »

Its a matter of GM and players taste and how much simplicity or what style you want to use.

If you don't mind the players know the full location beforehand then put the map on the table. Otherwise make them map as they explore.
If you want more precise measure for movement then use a grid paper, but BFRPG combat and movement rules are simply enough than you can play without precise visuals on where are you standing and facing each round.

My recommendations: Make the players map what they explore and don't use anything for combat, make it on the fly based on the descriptions of what happened, if needed do a fast sketch on a paper to show where everyone is (or to ask where they are supposed to be)
Sorry for any misspelling or writing error, I am not a native English speaker
Drawing portfolio: https://www.instagram.com/m.serena_dimirag/
Chaneduh

Post by Chaneduh »

Thanks for the help!
TimothyChenAllen