Some houserule ideas

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
K Peterson

Some houserule ideas

Post by K Peterson »

Hello, I'm new to Basic Fantasy. I've spent the past couple months looking at various retro-clones - and considered running Rules Cyclopedia straight - before discovering BF. BF is a promising system... one that I won't need to house rule and white wash as much as other clones, to suits my needs.

I do have a few small house rules that I'll incorporate. Pretty straightforward stuff.

Code: Select all

Additional Armor
  Type                      Cost             Weight           AC
Padded Armor                 5gp              10lbs.          12
Studded Leather              35gp             20lbs.          14
Splint Mail                 200gp             45lbs.          16
Mainly, I wanted to introduce some additional options for starting characters - specifically for those that roll poorly for starting money. There's also quite a financial gap between Chain Mail and Plate Mail so I wanted to provide a stepping stone for desperate fighters.

Code: Select all

Experience Bonuses
           Wisdom   13+        +5% XP bonus
           Charisma 13+        +5% XP bonus
I've stolen this from S&W. I'm ditching the +10% XP bonus for Humans. The campaign I'm running is going to be human-centric - non-humans will be rarely encountered and will begin as NPCs. (Once 'first-contact' has been established then I'll allow the option to generate non-humans). WIS and CHA are often considered useless or 'dump-stats' so I wanted to provide a little more value to them.