New Classes from Old

Creating game materials? Monsters, spells, classes, adventures? This is the place!
irichmond

New Classes from Old

Post by irichmond »

Hello,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I started playing fantasy RPG's in 1982. I was 8. Ever since, I've had a love for them, and I really like the OSR and Basic Fantasy. It gets back to the old elegant simplicity I remember, rather than modern games that have so many classes, sub-classes, and core rules that they can't even allow you to make your own characters in their basic box sets anymore.

I have kind of a neat take, I think, on sub-classes. I'm very married to the four core classes: Fighter, Thief, Magic User, and Cleric as being at the heart of classes and I've always seen them as very broad categories. Each could imply a lot of different occupations, or a character's occupation might be something else entirely. I remember one adventure from the old days that had Magic Users serving as priests of a god of magic. It also had two deities served by Fighters as priests. So, Magic Users and Fighters can be priests. They can't get Cleric spells or Turn Undead, but still that's interesting. I assume Thieves could be priests of gods of thievery or something. That got me wondering what other types can we do just with those four classes, or sub-classes that are only slight tweaks from them. The result is my article, here: "New Classes from Old". Rather than trying to add classes from other FRPG's or create a new class with very different abilities, this article re-imagines the big four in new and surprising ways. I have Clerical Bards, Thieves re-imagined as village witches (called Cunning Men and Cunning Women), White Magicians who cast Cleric spells, and even fairies as a Magic User sub-type.

See what you think.
New Classes from Old.docx