MapMatic +2

Creating game materials? Monsters, spells, classes, adventures? This is the place!
User avatar
Solomoriah
Site Admin
Posts: 6966
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:15 pm
Location: LaBelle, Missouri
Contact:

Re: MapMatic +2

Post Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:51 pm

It's a bug. I'll get it fixed.
My personal site: www.gonnerman.org
User avatar
Solomoriah
Site Admin
Posts: 6966
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:15 pm
Location: LaBelle, Missouri
Contact:

Re: MapMatic +2

Post Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:58 pm

... and, it should be fixed now. Sorry.
My personal site: www.gonnerman.org
User avatar
Blazeguard
Posts: 1279
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada

Re: MapMatic +2

Post Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:10 pm

Thanks.
The problem with doing something really stupid to impress people is that they may just be impressed by how stupid you really are.
User avatar
mTeasdale
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:46 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: MapMatic +2

Post Fri Dec 12, 2014 6:33 pm

Quick question guys, is there a way to add text, for numbering the different rooms ?
User avatar
Solomoriah
Site Admin
Posts: 6966
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:15 pm
Location: LaBelle, Missouri
Contact:

Re: MapMatic +2

Post Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:16 pm

In the text field add a number like this:

#1

The pound sign will be removed automatically.
My personal site: www.gonnerman.org
User avatar
mTeasdale
Posts: 775
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:46 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: MapMatic +2

Post Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:08 pm

Thanks Solo !
User avatar
Solomoriah
Site Admin
Posts: 6966
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:15 pm
Location: LaBelle, Missouri
Contact:

Re: MapMatic +2

Post Sat Jun 20, 2015 9:04 am

Just an update, for anyone who might be interested... MapMatic now has a floodfill feature. I created it to speed up filling areas with the "fill" tile, but actually you can fill with about anything.

Whatever is in the currently selected space will be copied to all empty spaces around that space. So, put a fill tile down in the middle of the "solid" area between some rooms and corridors, then hit Fill.

BE CAREFUL with this. There's no undo. I recommend practicing a bit with an unimportant map just to get comfortable with it. If you screw up a valuable map, just DON'T save it.
My personal site: www.gonnerman.org
User avatar
dymondy2k
Posts: 1552
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:56 am

Re: MapMatic +2

Post Mon Jun 22, 2015 12:34 pm

WOOT! Will give this a try..
Check out my BFRPG Campaign Setting
The Dragonclaw Barony
User avatar
Clever_Munkey
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:08 am
Location: Ames, Iowa

Re: MapMatic +2

Post Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:25 am

Not that you aren't busy enough already...

I understand that the maps in modules must be grey scale, but would it be possible to add a color feature? I'm not sure how mapmatic actually draws everything so that might be a really big task.
Call me Joe. Mr. Munkey is my father.
User avatar
Solomoriah
Site Admin
Posts: 6966
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:15 pm
Location: LaBelle, Missouri
Contact:

Re: MapMatic +2

Post Fri Jun 02, 2017 10:03 am

Clever_Munkey wrote:Not that you aren't busy enough already...

I understand that the maps in modules must be grey scale, but would it be possible to add a color feature? I'm not sure how mapmatic actually draws everything so that might be a really big task.
MapMatic draws by stacking square PNG images with transparency. The squares overlap by a few pixels, enabling doors etc. to extend between spaces. The words you see in the "current cell" field of the user interface are the actual filenames of these images, followed by a period and then a sequence of symbols (letters mostly) which define the orientation and position of the image.

To do a "color" version, someone would have to competently redraw all the tiles (every single one of them) and I'd have to add a feature to select a tile set. I'd be more than willing to do the latter if someone else did the former.

What, exactly, do you expect from a color version of MapMatic?
My personal site: www.gonnerman.org
Post Reply