Ability development

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
jamjan

Ability development

Post by jamjan »

I'm new to BFRPG and also new to RPG. I just recently came up with an idea to try RPG with my family (i.e. me+my wife+11yo daughter). I did not want to invest any $$ before we know it's the thing, so I chose (luckily) BFRPG after brief review of possibilities. We already had our first two sessions using Darkfir casle ruins adventure from 1st Adventure Anthology and it was a blast. Looking forward to advancing to Morgansfort module next.

My PCs are quite weak though. They barely have any ability bonuses and being a cleric and a halfling thief does not help either when it comes to combat. I was looking through the rules many times and searched the forum as well, but found nothing on how a character could improve the stats when advancing. They get additional hit die with new levels, which is good, but is there any way to improve their abilities? Or if there is not, how do you handle it in your games? Are the abilities supposed to increase during the life of a PC at all? With what they have now I don't see how they can survive any of Morgansfort's encounters. I can grant them some special weapons or make up an NPC fighter to join them for the expedition, but how will they make it in the future, on more advanced adventures?

I was thinking about special bonuses from magic potions, scrolls or blessings occasionally. I also think that I may give them a choice to use XP to advance to next level or improve any desired ability, but what should be the ratio here? 100 XP for one ability point would be good? What are your opinions on that? Or maybe it's written somewhere in the rules and I just did not see it?
SmootRK

Re: Ability development

Post by SmootRK »