Spells Question

General topics, including off-topic discussion, goes here.
maulxx

Spells Question

Post by maulxx »

I'm new to BFRPG & tabletop role playing. I'm reading the rule book & I'm just not quite understanding the part about preparing spells.

"A Magic-User may only prepare spells after resting (i.e. a
good night's sleep), and needs one turn per each three
spell levels to do so (rounding fractions up).
Spells
prepared but not used on a previous day are not lost. For
example, a 3rd level Magic-User preparing all three of his or
her available spells (two 1st level and one 2nd level) is
preparing a total of 4 levels of spells, and thus needs 2
turns (4 divided by 3 and rounded up)"

Could someone explain & elaborate on the underlined portions? In the example, how is he using 4 levels of spells?
Metroknight

Re: Spells Question

Post by Metroknight »

Magic users have to prepare spells which is basically studying the spell and almost completely casting the spell (going through the motions, words, and material usage) but stopping at the last moment to have that specific spell on pause or hold till when they need it then they finish casting that specific spell. All this takes time which is represented by the 1 turn per 3/levels.

A turn is 10 minutes in length so it boils down to about 3 1/2 minutes per spell level on average.

Spell levels is just a abstract representation of the complexity of the spells which is related to how knowledgeable the Magic-User at a specific level in relation to that spell.

This is how I understand it.
Caelestis

Post by Caelestis »

For the Spell levels it is:
1 x Level 1 Spell
1 x Level 1 Spell
1 x Level 2 Spell

So you end up with 4 if you add up the spell levels. I think that was one of the questions but sometimes I misread things :D
Dimirag

Post by Dimirag »

The time needed is based on the total of spell levels prepared.
Sorry for any misspelling or writing error, I am not a native English speaker