[AA3] Cult of the Green Skull

Creating game materials? Monsters, spells, classes, adventures? This is the place!
GM Parseth

[AA3] Cult of the Green Skull

Post by GM Parseth »

I'm fairly new to making my own adventures (have ran many, many before) but I've been getting a strong itch to make my own. This is a first draft (still very rough and no where near complete) of a "first dungeon" for a party of new players to deal with. I've kept it open ended and such for GMs to modify as they see fit. This is all just so I can get comfortable making adventures and such to prepare me for my "mega adventure" that should take a party from level 1 to 10 (or so) I'm still concepting.

It's not done in the BFRPG adventure template yet. Once I'm comfortable with it and feel it's done I'll upload it in that template style.

NOTE - the map is not included just yet, I'm still tweaking room sizes and such. I expect it to be included in the first update, Draft 2.

Accepting any and all critiques as well, please.

Edit: this is now in AA3
Working on - The Fallen City & The Baroness of Blood
orobouros

Re: Very first project

Post by orobouros »

Not a bad start. I recently wrote my own mini-campaign (meant to be played in one session) and found it to be quite the enjoyable project. Two things really helped me.

One, read read read read read stuff online about adventures and modules and such. You definitely want to avoid a railroad (unless you very specifically know you want a railroad adventure). There's a wealth of material on creating adventures, much of it listing things that are obvious issues once you're told but are hard to guess in advance without experience.